Review: Eluveitie – Origins

Location: Winterthur, Switzerland
Genre: Folk/Melodic Death Metal
Released: August 1, 2014
Format Reviewed: FLAC
Feature: Global Conquest – Recent Releases

By: Kris Kotlarik

The popularity of Eluveitie has always mystified me. While their releases and live performances feature authentic folk instruments, the music has never struck a chord with me. I’ve always been under the impression that Eluveitie has essentially forced their sound from one album to the next. While I may not be a complete fan of fellow folkers Turisas‘ newer works, they have shown that they are not afraid to change up their sound, which I embrace as a progression for the band.

I came into this review of Origins expecting to come perilously close to roasting it. But much like every other Eluveitie release, I am completely indifferent towards this. A large number of songs came and went without getting any sort of reaction, positive or negative, from me. The ones I particularly didn’t care for, such as “Vianna,” and “Celtos,” had a particularly poppy sound to them. If I were forced to pick highlights, I would start with “The Nameless” and “King,” the latter being the most energetic song by far (and some fancy fiddle work to boot). “The Day Of Strife” is also a decent track.

By and large, this goes down as an unremarkable album for me. It’s not bad; the production is nice, and the folk instruments liven up the arrangements substantially. But there are a number of spoken narrations that add absolutely nothing to the overall sound. The main problem is that there’s not enough to draw me back in for more, and that’s a major problem. 

Overall: Winterthur should stick with progressive death metal. They’re pretty good at it.

Rating: 2.0*

 

Leave a Reply

